Senior Staff

Academic Year 2020-2021

A full list of Senior staff is available as a downloadable PDF:

Senior Staff List (PDF)

Executive Director – Mr M Farmer BA (Hons), PGCE
Headmistress – Dr C McShane MA (Oxon), M.Phil (Cantab), PhD
Deputy Head (Pastoral) – Mrs P Cawley BA (Oxon), MA (Oxon), PGCE
Deputy Head (Academic) – Mr J O’Farrell BRelEd (Mus), MMus (Hons), (Dublin), MA (Hons) London
Director of Operations (Deputy) – Mrs V Low BSc (Hons), MA, DipTchng
Assistant Head – Head of Sixth Form – Miss C Pitchford BA (Hons), PGCE, MEd, NPQSL
Chaplain – Deacon Simon Conrad BA (Hons) Dunelm, PGCE, NPQH, CCRS
Senior Teacher, Examinations Officer – Miss G Nelson BEd (Hons)

Heads of Year

Year 7 – Mr D Breeze
Year 8 – Mrs S Clifton
Year 9 – Miss R Davidson
Year 10 – Mrs T Pearson
Year 11 – Mrs J Uren
Sixth Form – Miss C Pitchford
Assistant Head of Sixth Form – Dr S Wedlake

Academic Staff

Mrs M Angel MBE, BA (Hons), PGCE – Head of Business & Economics
Mr S Atkinson BA (Hons), MSc – Head of Biology
Miss J Bates BEd (Hons) – Head of Food Preparation and Nutrition
Miss C Bateup – Dance
Mrs A Battersby MA Oxon, MTeach, PGCE – Biology
Mr J Belmonte BA (Hons) – Art & Design
Dr H Benzing-Shears BA (Hons), MA, PhD, PGCE – History
Mrs S Bird BA (Hons), PGCE, NPQML – Geography
Mr S Bradshaw BSc (Hons), PGCE– Science
Mrs C Branfoot BA (Hons), PGCE, Dip. in Learning Support
– Learning Support
Mr D Breeze BA (Hons), PGCE – History
Miss A Burgess BA (Hons), MA, PGCE – Art & Design
Miss S Burke BA (Hons), PGCE – Mathematics
Miss J Burns-Begg BSc (Hons), PGCE – Mathematics
Mr T Caister GRSM (Hons), ARCM, PGCE – Director of Music
Miss P Cantwell BA (Hons) Dunelm, Mmus, PGCE – Music, Head of PSHE
Mrs P Cawley BA (Oxon), MA (Oxon), PGCE – Biology
Mrs L Chapman BA (Hons) – French, German, Spanish
Miss J Church BA (Hons), ALCM, AISTD, DDE – Drama, LAMDA
Mr J Clark BA (Hons), MA, PGCE – Geography
Ms J Clarke BA (Hons), PGCE – English
Mrs K H Clarke BEd (Hons) – Librarian
Mrs S Clifton BA (Hons), MA, PGCE – Mathematics
Dcn S Conrad BA (Hons) Dunelm, PGCE, NPQH, CCRS – Religious Studies
Ms F Corbat MA (Lehrdiplom) (Switzerland) – German
Mrs S Coughlin BA (Hons) – Head of Art & Design
Miss R Davidson BSc (Hons), PGCE – Biology, Chemistry
Mrs K Durham BA (Hons), PGCE – English
Mrs C Edwards BSc (Hons), PGCE – Head of Science, Physics
Miss S Elliott BA (Hons) – Physical Education
Dr S Evans BSc (Hons), PhD, DIC, MRSC – Head of Chemistry
Ms L Farage BA (Hons) – Spanish
Mr J Garlic BSc (Hons), PGCE – Head of Physics
Miss S Gibson BA (Hons), PGCE – Physical Education
Mr M Giles BA (Hons), PGCE, CCRS – Head of Religious Studies
Mr A Gill BSc (Hons), M.Phil, PGCE – Psychology
Mrs M Gonzalez-Weekes BA (Hons), PGCE (Barcelona) – Head of Spanish
Mr A Gosling BA (Hons), PGCE, MA – Religious Studies
Miss J Hansen BA, PGCE – Director of Performing Arts
Mrs C Harrison BA, PGCE – Learning Support
Miss F Hawkey BA (Hons), PGCE – Art & Design (on maternity leave)
Ms S Hobkinson BA (Hons), PGCE – Head of Geography
Ms P Hooghan BSc (Hons), PGCE, SpLd – Learning Support
Miss H Jones – Sports Graduate
Miss S Kay BA, PGCE – Head of Hockey
Mrs C Kenton BA, HDE, Dip.SpLD – Learning Support
Mrs V Low BSc (Hons), MA, DipTchng – Chemistry, Computer Science
Miss M Marsden BA (Hons) – Head of History and Government & Politics
Miss L McDowall BA (Hons) – Head of Mathematics
Mrs K McGrath BA (Hons), PGCE – Head of English
Dr C McShane MA (Oxon), M.Phil (Cantab), PhD – Latin, Head of Classics
Mr O Melvin BA (Hons), MA – Drama
Mr N Mentz BA (Hons), MA, HDE – English
Mrs A Moncrieffe MA Ed, PGCE,CPT3A – SENCO/Head of SEND
Mrs F Monro BA (Hons), MA, QTS, CCET – Learning Support
Miss G Nelson BEd (Hons) – Senior Teacher, Examinations Officer
Mrs C Newman – Language Assistant
Mr M Norris BA (Hons), GDip Teaching Secondary
– Head of English as an Additional Language, English
Mr K Nunkumar BSc (Hons), H.E.D. – Mathematics
Mr J O’Farrell BRrelEd (Mus), MMus (Hons)(Dublin), MA (Hons) London
– Music, Religious Studies
Miss J Owen BSc (Hons), QTS – Learning Support
Mrs T Pearson MSc, PGCE– Science
Miss C Pitchford BA (Hons), PGCE, MEd, NPQSL
– Drama, UCAS Coordinator, Head of Department for EPQ
Dr V Poffley BA (Hons), DPhil (Oxon), PGCE – Latin
Mrs S Randall – Head of Careers
Mrs F Sanders BA (Hons), PGCE – Art & Design
Miss S Shear BA (Hons), PGCE – Deputy Head of Art & Design
Mr M Stephens BSc (Hons), PGCE – Science
Miss D Still BA (Hons), QTS – Director of Sport
Revd. Canon P Thompson BA (Oxon) – Religious Studies
Mrs J Uren BA (Hons), PGCE – Art & Design
Miss A Watson – Sports Graduate
Dr S Wedlake MA (Cantab), BMBCh (Oxon) – Science
Ms N Wilson BA (Hons), PGCE – Head of Modern Languages,
French, German
Mrs C Yalden GRSM (Hons), ARCM, ARCO, PGCE – Music
Mrs S Yvon-Case Licence (distinction) (France), PGCE – French, Spanish

Heads of House

Mr K Nunkumar – Senior Head of House (St Dominic)
Mr M Norris (St Benedict)
Miss S Gibson (St Francis)
Mr M Stephens (St Ignatius)

Boarding Staff

Miss J Mentz BSc – Head of Boarding
Ms A Walton ACFI, PGCE – Deputy Head of Boarding
Mrs Z Wragg – Senior Boarding House Mistress
Mrs H Clarke BEd (Hons) – Assistant Boarding House Mistress

School Nurses

Mrs J Graham RSCN Dip Ed BSc (Hons),
Mrs J Curtis RN Dip, BSc (Hons)
Mrs P Smith RGN

School Doctor

Horsley Medical Centre, East Horsley

School Counsellor

Ms K Wilder MBACP


Mrs A Charles – Director of Admissions
Mrs N Menzies – Director of Marketing and Communications/PA to the Executive Director
Mrs C Du Preez Gale – PA to the Headmistress
Mrs R Cope – Admissions Officer
Mrs G Snowden – Staff Secretary
Mrs H-A Wood – Administration Assistant


Mrs K Babler HR, PA to the Director of Operations
Mrs J Sladen – Administrative Assistant


Mrs C Minikin BA, ACA – Director of Finance
Mrs D Hayward BA – Accountant
Mrs J de Voil NVQ Level 2, Laser Learning Award (Spld) Level 3 – Finance Assistant
Mrs S Kimble – Finance Assistant


Mr S Novak (Facilities and Estates Supervisor), Mr A Lopes,
Mr S Kempshall, Mr M Rodrigues, Mr M Bradford


Mr S Lewis (Ecogenie Cleaning Ltd),
Mrs A Dloniak-Markowska (Cleaning Supervisor), Mrs M Biszczanik (Laundry Assistant)


Miss C Barr – Transport Supervisor
Mr M Bowerman, Mrs B Giberson, Mr S Gill, Mrs A Mansfield,
Mr C Pidgeon, Mrs K Pidgeon, Mr M Colston, Mr D Price – Drivers
Mr D Harding – Relief Driver


Mr G Harvey (Catering Manager, Harrison’s),
Mr J Henson (Area Manager, Harrison’s)

Laboratory Technicians

Miss C Parkes HE Dip (Biological Sciences),
Ms E Tidy BSc (Hons), Mrs L Wells HND

IT Support

Mr Z Barna BSc (Eng), Mr C McClelland, Mr Dawid Wijas (IT Apprentice), Mr Botond Barna (IT Temporary Support)

Food Technician

Mrs C Gatford

Duke of Edinburgh Award

Mr M Stephens – Coordinator


Mrs A Craig – Equestrian Director
Mrs T Wise – Chief Instructor
Miss E Bennett – Yard Manager
Miss K Sayer – Administrator/Groom
K Bell, J Lord, S Penn, K Spence, G Wood, E Forbes – Freelance Instructors

Peripatetic Music Staff

Miss S Baillie BA (Hons) – Singing
Miss S Barnes BMUS (Hons), PGCE, RSAMD – Cello
Miss N Davies BMus (Hons) First Class – Clarinet
Miss L Geldard ARCM, RCM Dip.Perf., MISM – Flute
Miss A Glover ARCM, RCM Dip. Perf. – Oboe
Mr D Lee Music BA (Hons) – Drums
Ms M Lowbury BA (Hons) ARCM – Cello
Ms G Mcllwraith BMus (Hons), LGSM, LLCM, ALCM, Adv Opera – Voice
Mr A Nash GLCM (Hons) – Trumpet
Mrs L Parr RCM Dip (Teacher’s) – Piano
Ms A Raffa BA (Hons) CT, ABRSM, LRSM – Piano
Mr D Smith AGSM – Guitar
Mrs H Taylor BA (Hons), ALCM, LGSM – Piano
Mr C Thompson BA (Hons), MTC, FISM – Singing
Mrs G Wallace LRAM, GRSM – Violin
Mr S Walker BA (Hons) – Jazz, Piano, Saxophone
Ms H Wharmby LRSM – Piano